Assignment 1, Step 2

Assignment 1, Step 2

For step 2 of assignment one, we have to discuss how to enlarge our digital footprint.

There are a few options I will use to make my name found on Google.

  1. Meta Tags
    I incorporated words in the head section of my website; words that people would most likely search if trying to find me on the website. I included some key words such as, julia rao, image arts, ryerson, new media etc. that will make it easier for one to find my image arts website on google. Once my website is found, it provides a link to my flickr account (and in the future, more websites will be there) and this will help my digital footprint grow.
  2. Include Keywords!
    Including words in the body of my website that people will search will make it easier for my website to appear on google. Like I included in my meta tags, i included some words that people would search if trying to find me online. As the website becomes more develops, I will change the content of the home page, but I’m going to keep these keywords (and maybe add a few more around the website) in the body of the home page.
  3. Incoming links/ Mutual Links
    The more incoming links I have to my website, the more popular it will become. The more popular my website is, the easier it will be to find it on google. In order to make it more popular, I am going to post my website URL on several of my accounts. Several classmates and I are going to post each other’s websites around our accounts and websites (these are mutual links). The more incoming links/ mutual links that a website has, the more likely it is that it will show up on google when the key words are searched.
  4. Out text/ Using Text
    Out text are the descriptions and titles  that are associated the pictures on the website. If you scroll over the picture on my homepage, you will see a text box appear, saying julia rao, copper bowl. I included my name in this because it will help google find my name and I also included the name of the image. By doing this, and including the keywords on my other accounts (flickr, youtube etc.) google will be able to find my name, and my website better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment